Thursday, October 02, 2008

Distinguished Woman Philosopher Award for 2008: Nancy Tuana

From the Society for Women in Philosophy:

The Society for Women in Philosophy is pleased to announce that Nancy Tuana has been named the Distinguished Woman Philosopher of 2008.

Nancy Tuana is DuPont/Class of 1949 Professor of Philosophy, Science, Technology, Society, and Women's Studies at Pennsylvania State University and Founding Director of the Rock Ethics Institute ( ). Her contributions to feminist philosophy include: Series Editor of ReReading the Canon (Pennnsylvania State University Press), co-editor with Laurie Shrage of Hypatia: A Journal of Feminist Philosophy, Editor of the APA Newsletter on Feminism and Philosophy, co-editor (with Sally Haslanger and Jenny Saul) of the Stanford Encyclopedia's entries on feminist philosophy, director of two NEH Summer Seminars on Feminist Epistemologies, and numerous publications in the field of feminist philosophy. With Joan Callahan she is working on an in-depth oral history project Feminist Philosophers: In Their Own Words. Her most recent project is an investigation of the intersections of feminist philosophy and climate ethics.

Recipients of the Distinguished Woman Philosopher Award:
Nancy Tuana (2008)
Joan Callahan (2007)
Ruth Millikan (2006)
Linda Martín Alcoff (2005)
Susan Sherwin (2004)
Eva Feder Kittay (2003)
Sara Ruddick (2002)
Amelie Oksenberg Rorty (2001)
Marilyn Frye (1999)
Linda Lopez McAlister (1998)
Claudia Card (1997)
Gertrude Ezorsky (1996)
Alison Jaggar (1995)
Iris Marion Young (1994)
Kathryn Pyne Addelson (1993)
Virginia Held (1992)
Jane Roland Martin (1991)
Sandra Harding (1990)
Hazel Barnes (1989)
Leigh Cauman (1988)
Elizabeth Flowers (1987)
Mary Mothersill (1986)
Marjorie Greene (1985)
Elizabeth Beardsley (1984)
(no recipient was honored in 2000)

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home